Yesterday, Gorillaz frontman Damon Albarn sat down with Zane Lowe on his Beats 1 radio program to chat about the band’s upcoming release, The Now Now, out on June 29th via Parlophone.

During the interview, he says that the new record is “an album that I sing on, I sing on it. It’s pretty much just me singing, it’s very sort of in the world of 2D, but you know, he’s kind of come out and is singing very expressively and it’s sort of…I don’t know. I feel really good about it, I feel really good about it.Featuring Snoop Dogg, George Benson and Jamie Principle.” He then described it as “a real summer record“.

The English virtual band has also dropped two new tracks, plus a music video featuring American actor, comedian and musician Jack Black.

The first of the two new singles, ‘Humility‘, is a new collaboration with legendary jazz guitarist George Benson. Watch the video, starring Jack Black, below!

The second one, ‘Lake Zurich‘, is a pure-instrumental tune, only featuring Damon Albarn‘s distorted vocals. Listen to the song below!

Check out the cover artwork and tracklist below!

1. Humility [ft. George Benson]
2. Tranz
3. Hollywood [ft. Snoop Dogg and Jamie Principle]
4. Kansas
5. Sorcererz
6. Idaho
7. Lake Zurich
8. Magic City
9. Fire Flies
10. One Percent
11. Souk Eye

Pre-order the album here ahead of its 29th June release.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here