Techno pioneer Jeff Mills has shared details of the soundtrack album for the Japanese movie And Then There Was Light.

The movie, directed by Tatsushi Omori and released in Japan this winter, is based on a 2008 novel titled ‘Hikari‘ by Shion Miura.

Out on January 26th via Mills’ Axis Records, the 16-tracker is a mind-blowing and soothing album, where music reflects and showcases all those themes found in the movie: determination of the people, sense of loss, agony and love.

The music Jeff Mills has created is beyond my imagination and I really enjoyed synchronizing them into the scenes. The film shines like a star after the music has been added.“, said Film Director Tatsushi Omori.

And Then There Was Light‘ parts of the score already came out digitally but this upcoming CD contains more music.

01.      The Secret Sense  (2:58)
02.      Islands From The Lost Sea  (3:26)
03.      The Raindrops Of Truth  (3:38)
04.      Parallelism In Fate  (3:20)
05.      The Revenge Of Being In Lust  (4:29)
06.      The Bond Of Death  (4:06)
07.      The Trail Of Secrets  (2:52)
08.      Consequences  (3:04)
09.      Danger From Abroad  (2:59)
10.      The Little Ones  (2:55)
11.      Landscapes  (2:56)
12.      Trigger Happy Level  (0:14)
13.      The Players Of Consequence  (0:22)
14.      Lost Winners  (4:06)
15.      The Hypnotist (Hikari Mix)  (4:28)
16.      Incoming  (3:22)

Read the plot of the movie below!

The film follows protagonist Nobuyuki, a middle school student living in Mihama, an island off the coast of  Tokyo,  who will do anything for his beautiful girlfriend and classmate, Mika. Until one night, when he catches her in the arms of another man. But thinking quickly, Mika responds by pretending that she is being molested and calls for Nobuyuki’s help. Nobuyuki naturally obliges and ends up killing the man. But someone witnessed the incident: a young neighbor named Tasuku, who looks up to Nobuyuki. That night, a devastating tsunami hits the island, wiping out most of its residents. All is quiet. Fast forward 25 years later, and Mika has become an actress leading a glamorous life. Nobuyuki, meanwhile, is married to another woman and has a 5-year-old daughter. The past appears to have been buried for good, until one day the only witness to the crime, Tasuku, reappears with a vendetta on his mind.  First, he seduces Nobuyuki’s wife and begins an illicit affair with her. He then sends incriminating evidence of the long-lost crime to Mika. Once again, Nobuyuki finds himself needing to protect Mika. But the past has returned to life to haunt and destroy them all in this fiercely-wrote crime thriller.

Check out the movie trailer.

Listen to the digital album format for ‘And Then There Was Light‘ below!

01.  Incoming 3:24
02.  A Secret Sense 3:12
03.  Danger From Abroad 3:04
04.  Parallelism In Fate 7:50
05.  Landscapes 3:07
06.  Arrangements of the Past 3:08
07.  Trigger Happy Level 4:14
08.  The Players of Consequence 1:23
09.  Raindrops of Truth 3:30
10.  The Hypnotist (Hikari Mix) 4:33


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here