Founded in the early ’90s, Soma records is unarguably one of Techno’s major forces in 2017 and since it’s inception on the streets of Glasgow, UK, Soma Records has stood for uncompromising quality of the highest level in every area it operates. Label figureheads Slam formed the label in 1991 together with friends Glenn Gibbons & Dave Clarke and subsequently forged one of electronic music’s most widely known and well-respected labels.

Besides its considerable catalogue of influential techno, the Glasgow-based techno and house label is  known for launching the career of Daft Punk with a series of three singles between 1994 and 1996.

This year, Soma celebrates 25 years in the business and to celebrate this they have announced a brand new box set which includes 5×12” vinyl featuring 15 exclusive tracks from Jeff Mills, Robert Hood, Steve Bicknell, Andrew Weatherall, Blawan & Adam Beyer, to provide brand new musical excursions for today’s dance floors and beyond.

SOMALP113-Artwork-web These, coupled with many of today’s new up and coming names in the techno genre like Kobosil, VRIL, Deepchord & Jonas Kopp choosing their favourite tracks from the Soma back catalogue to remix sees Soma’s futuristic vision remaining strong with the celebration of 25 years being one of a forward thinking nature rather than one of nostalgia.

‘Soma25’ is out on March 31. You can check out the Soma25 teaser video and tracklist below.

A1. Robert Hood – The Bond We Formed
A2. Jeff Mills – A Tale From the Parallel Universe
B1. Daft Punk – Drive (Slam Modular Interpretation)
B2. Adam Beyer – Just Things
C1. Blawan – Clipper
C2. The Woodleigh Research Facility – S.O.M.A 25
D. Josh Wink – Synodic Period
E1. Slam – Stepback (Jonas Kopp Remix)
E2. Slam – Visions (Kobosil Remix)
F. Percy X – X Track (Vril Remix 2)
G1. Slam – Tempest
G2. Steve Bicknell – Mind Cycles
H. Funk D’Void – 808 Planet
I. Joe Stawarz – Cry (Deepchord Remix)
J. Joe Stawarz – Beebear. (Deepchord Remix)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here