Roman Poncet To Release New Album, ‘Gypsophila’

The 12-tracker will be released on April 23rd through Len Faki's Figure.

Roman Poncet (real name Romain Reynaud) is dropping his debut album, ‘Gypsophila‘, via Berlin based DJ and producer Len Faki‘s Figure label.

Set for release on April 23rd on both triple-vinyl and digital formats, ‘Gypsophila‘ will be the French techno producer’s first album under the moniker Roman Poncet and the second proper one on Figure.

As a press release stated, “on Gypsophila the French producer uses the extended format to slowly shape up a scenery of epic proportions where surprise and constant change lurk around every corner. A certain sense of progression and evolution runs throughout Poncet’s music; it invariably keeps one locked in, no matter for the opening drones of Do Not or the patiently growing Thick Vegetation, which fuses tribal percussion and choral chants to showcase another of this LP’s key features: its dense soundscape, which at once feels inherently electronic yet deeply organic, translating the abstract futuristic themes of techno into something jam-packed and heady albeit steadily grounded – a listening experience that is as dreamy as it remains tangible.

This holds true for the highly atmospheric synth-lead pieces, such as the cinematic intro Hello You, the elevating arp-ride Epreuve or the suspended celestial groove of Atlas. But equally goes for the floor-focused rhythms, like relentless steam engine-workout Piege or mid-album mind-trip In Aeternam. Adding even more variety and depth to the mix, the tidal title track is given its own side to explore the sheer endless expanses of dub…

Listen to “Épreuve” below!

A1 Do Not
A2 Hello You
A3 For Once We Saw The Light
B1 Thick Vegetation
B2 Impression Of A Dying Swarm
C1 Piège
C2 Épreuve
D1 In Aeternam
D2 Atlas
E Gypsophila
F1 Never Ready
F2 Gentle Nightmare


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here