As the world continues to mourn the loss of one of the most influential and iconic voices of all time, Aretha Franklin, who passed away in August at the age of 76, Rhino Records has announced three special releases in celebration of the Queen of Soul’s legacy.

December 7th will see the release of the Atlantic Records 1960s Collection, a six-LP boxed set that includes the first five studio albums Aretha recorded with Atlantic –  Never Loved a Man the Way I Love You (mono), Aretha Arrives (mono), Lady Soul (stereo), Aretha Now (stereo) and Soul ’69 (stereo) – as well as a bonus disc, titled Rarities From The 1960s, featuring a demo of ‘I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You),’ and outtake versions of Franklin’s covers of ‘The Letter,’ ‘You Keep Me Hangin’ On‘ and more.

Limited to 5,000 copies worldwide, all the LPs are pressed for the first time on 140-gram vinyl and come equipped with their original cover art. Head here for more info!

But there is another great news for all the die-hard Aretha fans! The late icon’s 2008 holiday album This Christmas is getting its first vinyl debut.

Due out on November 16th, the nine-track record, trimmed from original length to fit on LP, features well-known yuletide classics such as ‘Angels We Have Heard On High‘ and ‘Hark! The Herald Angels Sing‘, along with some newer holiday songs like the title track and ‘My Grown-Up Christmas List.’ Head here for more info!

I was thrilled when Aretha called me to produce her long awaited Christmas record. It had been a dream of hers for decades,” said album producer Tena Clark in a statement. “Her beautiful spirit is radiant throughout the record and this new mix of ‘Silent Night’ showcases what an incomparable force she truly was, both on vocals and piano. There has and never will be a voice like the Queen of Soul.

A new stripped-down version of Aretha’s 2008 rendition of ‘Silent Night‘ was released Tuesday as a digital single and via streaming services. Listen to it below!

Rarities From The 1960s tracklist

Side One
1. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You) – Demo
2. Dr. Feelgood (Love Is A Serious Business) – Demo
3. It Was You – Outtake
4. The Letter – Outtake
5. So Soon – Outtake

Side Two

1. Mr. Big – Outtake
2. Talk To Me, Talk To Me – Outtake
3. The Fool on the Hill – Outtake
4. You’re Taking Up Another Man’s Place – Outtake
5. You Keep Me Hangin’ On – Outtake
6. I’m Trying To Overcome – Outtake

This Christmas LP tracklist

Side One
1. Angels We Have Heard On High
2. This Christmas
3. My Grown-Up Christmas List
4. The Lord Will Make A Way

Side Two
1. Ave Maria
2. Christmas Ain’t Christmas (Without The One You Love)
3. 14 Angels
4. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
5. Silent Night


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here