UK duo ICARUS – brothers Ian and Tom Griffiths – are back with a new EP titled ‘This Must Be The Place’.

Out now on FFRR, the EP revolves around the concept of constantly moving from one place to the next – a lifestyle which dictates contradictory emotions of unlimited freedom alongside loneliness and anxiety.

The EP was previewed by ‘Echoes and ‘Man of the Land’, a collaboration which pitied ICARUS’s dark, cinematic production alongside transient-themed lyricism from Real Lies. As the brothers note, “We’ve got the clearest vision that we’ve ever had of the core ICARUS sound, but those tracks show that we’ll always experiment with how far we’ll push it.

Also included are two brand new cuts, ‘Sirens’, featuring vocals from fellow Bristolian, Katy Pearson, and ‘Running Away’, which best captures the EP’s concept of constantly moving onto new horizons. The track remained unfinished as they left for the RÜFÜS DU SOL tour and trying to finish it on the road proved difficult. But it soon reached its full potential when they returned home. “It took going away on tour and having those experiences and then coming back to our comfort zone to make it work. But now it really matches up with what we both felt was right for it.

Listen to ‘This Must Be The Place‘ EP and stream/buy it here!

01. Echoes
02. Man of the Land (ft. Real Lies)
03. Sirens
04. Running Away

The duo have also announced a series of April headline dates, while in March they will play their first live show in Mexico at the Vaivén Festival.

23rd – Manchester, The Deaf Institute
24th – London, XOYO
25th – Glasgow, SWG3
26th – Bristol, Thekla
27th – Dublin, Button Factory

More info and tickets here!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here